fill me

i look over at the clock
and realize another hour has gone by
and although I’ve crossed off
a handful of things
on my list to get done
i don’t feel
as though i’ve accomplished much.

the weariness still lingers
and my mind is still spinning
and the load doesn’t seem
any lighter.

there’s an ache in my heart
a craving in my soul
and I realize that
it doesn’t get fed
through doing…
but through being.

being still at my Father’s feet
being quiet to listen to His voice
being soothed by His Words
being comforted by His power
being set free by His grace.

my sweet Jesus
why do I insist
on starving my spirit
when all the nourishment i need
is at Your feet
if only i will kneel down
and let You fill me.

Matthew 11:28-30

28 “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.

29 Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.

30 For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”

Leave a Reply

