enough

what if the trials in this life are your mercies in disguise…

the pain reminds this heart that this is not my home.

what if my greatest disappointments

or the aching of this life

is the revealing of a greater thirst this world cannot satisfy

(lyrics from Laura Story’s song “Blessings”)

thank you God that this world will never satisfy the deep ache in my heart to know You more and see You more clearly. i get tangled daily in the demands on my physical life all the while my soul longing for moments like these when I just sit at Your feet and soak up Your goodness.

God may my heart be reminded that this world will never be enough.

I will never have enough money

or a perfect enough job

i will never do enough

my house will never be clean enough

i will never be fit enough

eat healthy enough

be a good enough mom

or wife.

But God may my heart know that You are enough. And in You, I am all You want me to be. Even amidst the swirling terror in this world, You are always enough to satisfy my soul. My deepest longing for peace, joy, love, goodness…all filled because of Your great mercy and grace poured out on me daily.

Leave a Reply

