roots

Recently I had the sad privilege

Of standing in the line to honor

A very dear girlfriend’s dad’s life.

And as I stood there

Surrounded by hundreds of people

Waiting to honor his family

I was struck deeply

by the roots he decided to grow in his community

throughout his entire life.

My girlfriend & I have always joked

about the fact that she’s always lived in one county

and that she has no desire to leave…ever.

I always thought it kind of odd

that she would want to stay in the same place

and not “discover” the world.

But that night I realized,

her roots are here.

And they are planted deeply in the legacy of her family.

And as one of the most beautifully godly women I know

Her roots are also planted deeply in Christ

and that is how she’s able to produce such amazing fruit with her life.

For me, I’ve never let roots grow too deeply

because I know how ugly and hard it is to pull them up.

I’ve found myself with an itch to get going once I felt the tugging in my heart

because root had started planting itself in the season or place I was in.

But I’m learning that the thing about growing roots

is that although I’ll have to let others see beneath the more attractive outside

down to where it’s dirty and messy and tangly

those roots are also through which God can produce in me the finest fruit He intended.

Jeremiah 17:7-8

7 “But blessed are those who trust in the Lord
      and have made the Lord their hope and confidence.
 8 They are like trees planted along a riverbank,
      with roots that reach deep into the water.
   Such trees are not bothered by the heat
      or worried by long months of drought.
   Their leaves stay green,
      and they never stop producing fruit.

Leave a Reply

