seasonal faithfulness

I think I thought
that if I tolerated a season
I was being faithful.

If God had landed me somewhere
I wasn’t particularly fond of
or asked me to do something I really didn’t like
and I tolerated it, keeping my complaints silent
He would look down and say
“well done, good and faithful servant”

But tolerance isn’t faithfulness
and He can’t teach me new things
or change the inner parts of who He wants me to be
if only I’m waiting for an assignment or season
just to be over.

Instead I must choose to be faithful
to seek Him for every step
and praise Him that in the midst of great trial
He can accomplish great victories.

Remembering that faithfulness
isn’t based upon understanding
or feelings.

But on the promise that God
is always at work
to bring about His purposes
and the extent to which I get to see Him work
is a result of my yielding to His hand
and being faithful to seek Him

praise Him

trust Him

wait for Him.

 
Jeremiah 17:7-8

“But blessed are those who trust in the Lord
and have made the Lord their hope and confidence.

They are like trees planted along a riverbank,
with roots that reach deep into the water.
Such trees are not bothered by the heat
or worried by long months of drought.
Their leaves stay green,
and they never stop producing fruit.

Leave a Reply

