press on

Phillipians 3:12-14
…but one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.

How many times
have I been so focused on the past.
With all my mistakes and failures
That I miss the present opportunities
God is placing in front of me.

Pauls says “forget what is behind
strain toward what is ahead”
and still I replay old conversations
and old hurts
picking at the scabs of wounds
God is trying to heal.

Confess, forgive and move on God says.
And for some reason I feel I’m justified
in reminding myself about how I’ve messed up
thinking that I have to remember my failures
so that I don’t repeat them in the future.

And so my prayer begins
that I would forgive myself
as God has forgiven me.

That I would ask for forgiveness
and move on.

And let God grow me through my failures
as I work on forgetting what is behind
and straining toward what is ahead.

Because God wants me
to press on toward the goal
to win the prize
for which God has called me
heavenward in Christ Jesus.

Leave a Reply

