Glad I didn’t know

I love the way that God
doesn’t give me the details
of what He’s about to do.

 

I always think I want to know them
but in most situations
…especially one like I’ve been in for the past couple of months
I’m so glad that He didn’t tell me
…I don’t know that I would have followed if He had.

 

We sold our house 2 months ago
and every plan we had following the sale
has been changed
and every idea redesigned.

 

We finally closed on our old house this week (yay!)
and are waiting to close on our new house
in a few weeks.

 

In the meantime, we’re at my in-laws
their graciousness and generosity
is abundant
and I’m so grateful.

 

But it’s been a journey
of uncertainty and confusion
not really knowing where we’d end up next
or what direction God had for us around the corner.

 

And although I love His plans for me now
the process has stripped me of any of my own confidence
and it’s been painful.

 

Painful in a way that I’m pretty certain
I would not have chosen
had He given me the option.

 

I’m so glad that He didn’t let me choose His will for me
because the joy I have depending solely on Him
is something I could have never attained
in my own plans or own strength.

 

I love my Jesus so much
how very sweet He is
to know me so well
and know exactly what I need
to draw me closer to Him.

 

I’m so grateful that His plans prevail.

 

Proverbs 16:9 In his heart a man plans his course, but the LORD determines his steps.

Leave a comment