fortress

Psalm 62:5-6
Find rest, O my soul, in God alone;
my hope comes from him.
He alone is my rock and my salvation;
he is my fortress, I will not be shaken.

 

When my nerves are all frayed
and my edges are rough
when my thoughts I cannot contain
and my words misunderstood.

 

When it seems I cannot
do a single thing right
and the walls feel
like they are about to close in
around me.

 

In You, my sweet Savior,
I can find rest
and know that hope is never gone.

 

And I can imagine You
built up around me
just like a fortress.

 

Settling every nerve
calming every heartbeat
holding me on the rock
of who You are.

 

I can run to You
for You are always waiting for me.

 

You always want to hear my heart
You never get tired of my fears
You forever keep me from being
eternally shaken.

One thought on “fortress

Leave a Reply

