another perfect prayer

God sometimes breathes on me in the most unexpected ways – my heart is set upon this prayer becoming one of my own.

 

O God whose will conquers all,

There is no comfort in anything

apart from enjoying thee

and being engaged in they service;

Thou are All in all, and all enjoyments are what to me

thou makest them, and no more.

I am well please with thy will, whatever it is,

or should be in all respects,

And if thou bidst me decide for myself in any affair

I would choose to refer all to thee,

for thou art infinitely wise and cannot do amiss,

as I am in danger of doing.

I rejoice to think that all things are at thy disposal,

and it delights me to leave them there…

I can of myself do nothing to glorify thy blessed name,

but I can through grace cheerfully surrender soul and body to thee.

 

— From The Valley of Vision: A Collection of Puritan Prayers and Devotion

Leave a Reply

