December traditions

I was just talking to my mom today about how December seems to just come and go without even a blink! I tend to start the month with great intentions to send cards, bake lots of (easy) goodies and get in touch with old friends. But alas, it’s almost New Year’s Eve and I neglected to do most of those things.

December is one of my favorite months though because it is filled with family traditions.

Here are a few of ours…

Early in December, all the Cowell girls go to the “Christmas Sweets”. We all get dressed up in our fancy dresses and spend the afternoon eating sweet treats and listening to beautiful Christmas carols at a local church. Here are me and my girls getting ready to go and the girls and their cousins…

 

This year on Christmas Eve, we spent the morning at Keith’s parents house, eating yummy treats and opening gifts with his family…

I have very creative sister-in-laws who always come up with the most amazing gift ideas for the grandparents. This year we had all the grandkids put painted footprints on a canvas with Psalm 119:105 painted in the middle “Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light for my path” …it turned out beautifully…

 

On Christmas day after opening our gifts and spending the morning together, we usually head up to Maryland to spend a week with my mom, sister and her family. But this year we treated ourselves to coming up on Christmas Eve so the kids could all open presents together…

 

One of the most fun things I remember as a kid is a sing-along that we had every year after Christmas. My sister has continued that tradition at her house. It always includes my Uncle Jeff playing the piano…

 

And the “12 Days of Christmas”, complete with hand motions…

 

Once the Christmas festivities are over and we still have time to relax and enjoy each other, my sister always comes up with a home improvement project for Keith and my brother-in-law to tackle while we’re here and the guys always have such a blast.

 

Here they are taking out a brick “stoop” in front of the fireplace…

 

 

As excited as I am about 2010 and all the “new” traditions we may make, I am so grateful for all the family and fun times we’ve been given this December.

Leave a Reply

