choose

this is my oldest daughter, Kaitlyn, she’s 6.

most of the time when people see her, they note that she could be a “mini-me”

…and as proud mom, I beam, because I think she is absolutely beautiful, inside and out.

 

Recently though, as I seek God to train up Kaitlyn to make wise choices, God has used my conversations with her in the most revealing ways how He wants me to make wise choices as well.

And one of the best lessons that I’m learning (from God through Kaitlyn), is that in every day I choose my thoughts, my attitudes and my actions.

That no one else can decide those things for me.

 

And in everything…

I can choose to hate…or to love (1 Peter 4:8)

I can choose to see the bad in a situation…or to see the good (Romans 8:28)

I can choose to be bitter…or to forgive (Ephesians 4:31; Colossians 3:13)

I can choose to hold on to hurts…or to keep no record of wrongs (I Cor 13:5)

I can choose to be anxious…or to trust (Philippians 4:6; Proverbs 3:5)

I can choose to focus on others…or focus on God (John 21:22)

I can choose to fear…or believe God’s promises (Isaiah 41:10)

I can choose hopelessness…or hope (Jeremiah 17:7-8)

I can choose condemnation…or freedom (Romans 8:1; Galations 5:13)

 

So, today, just as I encouraged Kaitlyn to choose, I too have a choice about my thoughts, attitudes and actions…

 

Philippians 4:8    …Fix your thoughts on what is true, and honorable, and right, and pure, and lovely, and admirable. Think about things that are excellent and worthy of praise.

One thought on “choose

  1. I often find myself having to take my own words to heart, too. Parenting is sooo challenging and so very good for the heart and soul. Although I never comment, I do try to keep up with your postings. It makes me feel close to you even though we are miles apart. Still hoping and praying to see you in the spring on 2010! Love you! Merry Christmas!

    Like

Leave a Reply

