measure

I’ve meditated on this verse often as I’ve prayed about our finances. It was first introduced to me while I read The Blessed Life by Robert Morris. In previous times of reading the book (it’s a book that I will read multiple times), God was really working on my heart with regards to money.

Luke 6:38 Give, and it will be given to you. A good measure, pressed down, shaken together and running over, will be poured into your lap. For with the measure you use, it will be measured to you.

This verse along with others transformed my thinking with regards to what God gives, and how He wants me to give.

 

But there is so much more to this verse.

 

It’s not just the measure of money…

For as I give love, love will be given to me.

For as I give mercy, mercy will be given to me

For as I give forgiveness, forgiveness will be given to me.

For as I give encouragement, encouragement will be given to me.

in addition…

For as I give judgement,  judgement will be given to me.

For as I give condemnation, condemnation will be given to me.

For as I give hatred, hatred will be given to me.

For as I give bitterness, bitterness will be given to me.

For as I give critical opinion, critical opinion will be given to me.

 

Praying about what this looks like in my daily life. 

Asking myself what do I “give”

…to God

…to those that I love

…to those who have hurt me

…to those who I don’t understand

…to those who are hurting

 

 

Leave a Reply

