Chicken Tortilla Soup

I wish I loved to cook.

I really do.

Don’t hear me wrong…I love to eat.

I just don’t see the point in spending 3 hours making something that is going to be gone in 20 minutes.

Sometimes I indulge in the lie that “if only” I had a big, pretty kitchen, then I’d like to cook…

but in reality I’m pretty certain I’d get more joy out of organizing all the cabinets.

So, when I come across a really easy recipe that is yummy too, I get giddy about sharing it with those of you who might share my love for food….just not preparing it.

I got this recipe from my sister. It is really, really yummy…especially on a cold day.

 

Chicken Tortilla Soup

1 box chicken broth (4 cups)
1 can mexican corn
1 can chopped green chilis
1 can cream of potato soup
1 packet taco seasoning mix
1 can black beans
1 rotisserie chicken or 18 oz pre-cooked chicken or double the recipe and boil/shred a 5-6 lb. roaster
8oz cream cheese
 
Mix everything but the cream cheese together.  Boil, simmer for awhile….add cream cheese, but don’t boil it.  Enjoy!
 
Note:  instead of buying chicken broth, you can also boil a chicken and use the broth from there instead

(note is from my sister…I don’t even begin to know what to do with a whole chicken, I just bought an already cooked rotisserie chicken from the grocery store).

Leave a Reply

