words

if you’re reading this and you’re angry and about to vent, please wait!

remember…your words…

you can’t put them back in.

once they’re out there, there’s no turning back.

and there will be consequences.

maybe not even today, but they will come.

so, stop, pray and ask God to give you His words instead.

please.

 

I’m learning the harsh reality of this right now.

and I don’t want you to have to go through this – it’s horrible.

they were words I said to someone …about someone else…a long time ago.

I’m now reaping the consequences.

my words were hurtful, destructive and angry.

and I chose to say them all, instead of asking God to guard my lips.

in the process, I planted rotten seeds in the heart of someone I love dearly…just because they listened.

and it destroyed a relationship.

all because I chose not to let God guard my lips.

 

God tells me to honor Him with my body (I Corinthians 6:19-20).

my mouth is part of my body.

now I’m praying for healing,

but I made a choice.

and although I believe healing will happen eventually…

the scars don’t go away.

 

I’m praying God would guard my lips.

and teach me to be much more careful with my words.

learning that a gentle word is never displaced.

and angry ones are never a good answer to any situation.

 

Proverbs 15:1   A gentle answer turns away wrath, but a harsh word stirs up anger.

 

James 1:19-20   My dear brothers and sisters, be quick to listen, slow to speak and slow to get angry. Your anger can never make things right in God’s sight.

Leave a Reply

