what do they see?

I am a perfectionist.

I figure why bother doing something if I’m not going to do it perfectly?

So, generally, if I don’t think I can accomplish something and the final product not be of the best quality, I won’t generally attempt it.

And then I got married…

And I had kids…

And a house to manage….

 

And for years I strived for perfection even in those things.

Because I believed it would be beautiful if I could control those things to perfection.

 

Then I read this verse…

 I Peter 3:3-4

Your beauty should not come from outward adornment, such as braided hair and the wearing of gold jewelry and fine clothes. Instead, it should be that of your inner self, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is of great worth in God’s sight.

 

For me, it wasn’t necessarily physical appearance that was my outward adornment, but what I thought my life looked like from the outside.

And I realized…

…if someone asked my husband or kids if a “gentle and quiet spirit” was what they saw when they looked at me, what would their answer be?

Because ultimately, a clean house, well-behaved kids and a faithful husband aren’t by themselves things that are “of great worth in God’s sight” ….but a gentle and quiet spirit is.

 

So I stopped striving for perfection, but am allowing Grace to take over instead.

Leave a Reply

