deserve

One of my favorite financial websites is ChristianPF.com. They have some great financial advice and resources with a Biblical perspective. They also often ask questions with the purpose of starting a discussion. A couple of days ago, the discussion was regarding what to tip a bad waiter and many shared their responses…most referencing giving the waiter what he had earned (very little) or to speak to a manager about the poor service.

It broke my heart.

And I thought to myself…I wonder which is more effective with regards to being Jesus’ hands and feet to a lost and dying world?

1. leaving him $1, 10%, 20%, etc. and giving him what he has “earned” or “deserves”
2. leaving a $20 tip with a note only stating “God loves you”

…because the way I see it, I deserve death and eternity in hell…but instead Jesus insists on showering blessings on me daily and telling me He loves me (irregardless of my attitude or service towards Him that day).

Oh, if only my heart would always be to share Jesus with everyone I meet. Irregardless of how they treat me and what I think I “deserve”.

 

Philippians 2:3-8

Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit, but in humility consider others better than yourselves.

Each of you should look not only to your own interests, but also to the interests of others.

Your attitude should be the same as that of Christ Jesus:
 Who, being in very nature God,
      did not consider equality with God something to be grasped,

 but made himself nothing,
      taking the very nature of a servant,
      being made in human likeness.
And being found in appearance as a man,
      he humbled himself
      and became obedient to death—
         even death on a cross!

 
 
 

 

 

One thought on “deserve

  1. Sheila,
    you know I agree – there was quite a wide range of comments on that post.

    And I think you are right on about keeping the focus on what we deserve – it really puts things in perspective. Which is why I – as much as I might want to sometimes (with really bad service), I can’t feel good about giving someone anything less than a 20% tip. I just never want to take the chance that my small tip (lack of generosity) but a bad mark on Jesus.

    Like

Leave a Reply

