memorize

Lately I’ve been struggling with anxious thoughts. Not consuming ones, but little ones that seem to creep up on me and derail my focus, quickly spiraling into a negative attitude if I don’t catch them quick enough.

And I don’t know if it’s because the thoughts are more in quantity or if I’ve just become more sensitive. I’m hoping the latter.

What I have noticed is that I have grown in catching them quicker and attempting to dispell them (yay!). But then digressing to childlike behavior consisting of internally stuffing my fingers in my ears and chanting “LALALALALALA” loudly enough that I cannot hear anything else.

This morning I was reminded that instead of just drowning out the anxious thoughts with useless noise, my mind is renewed more effectively by taking those captive, flushing them out and then filling them with things that are true, noble, right, pure, lovely, admirable, excellent and praiseworthy (Phil 4:8)

Then I wandered over to Beth Moore’s blog and noticed that for 2009, she challenged her “siestas” to memorize 2 verses a month, calling everyone who made the commitment the Siesta Scripture Memory Team.

And I decided to join in, I mean what an amazing thought to be joined with thousands of women committed to memorizing God’s Word. I’m a bit behind, but I’d rather be behind than absent.

My hope (not promise) is that I will start each month with 2 verses. One verse that I am memorizing with my kids and Keith and one that God has really impressed upon my heart to memorize on my own. At the end of each month, I will attempt to type each in a blog post without looking….you can hold me accountable, ok?

Here are the ones for March (yes, I am aware that it is the 10th…anyone who knows me well knows that I am rarely on time for things!):

With Keith & the kids:

Romans 8:28    We know in everything that God works for the good of those who love Him.

My own:

Isaiah 33:6  He is your constant source of stability; He abundantly provides safety and great wisdom; He gives all this to those who fear Him (New English Translation)

One thought on “memorize

Leave a Reply

