lean not

Every Saturday morning, I head over to Internet Cafe Devotions for their weekly “Cafe Chat”.  It has become one of my favorite devotional sites and the Saturday questions always get me thinking. This week and last week’s questions were tied together…

Last week it was aimed at identifying a resounding struggle/stronghold in my life and the question was how would my life look if I no longer struggled with _______? What if I was completely free from that stronghold through Christ’s power?

My answer was: my biggest struggle is unbelief. I believe God can do all things, I just don’t always believe He can do them in ME. It’s the struggle of thinking that if I miss something, if I don’t understand all that He’s trying to do and align myself with Him, He won’t be able to do it. Like I must be able to comprehend what He’s doing in me for it to be possible for Him to still do it.

This week the question is “how” do we overcome this stronghold.

Immediately, my heart turns to Proverbs 3:5-6…

Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding, in all your ways seek Him and He will make your paths straight.

Problem is I think I have to figure the path out before He makes it straight.

That I must understand it to believe it.

And that I must believe it before He can do it.

Nope…not what this verse says.

This verse says that all that is required of me is to TRUST and to SEEK.

That not only is my understanding not required, it is not expected.

All that is expected of me is that I trust that God is who He says He is and that I seek Him with all my heart.

He does the rest.

One thought on “lean not

Leave a Reply

