patience

Your Most Basic Act of Worship…

Lord, I’m Yours.

Whatever the cost may be,

may Your will be done in my life.

 

I realize I’m not here on earth to do my own thing,

or to seek my own fulfillment or my own glory.

 

I’m not here to indulge my desires,

to increase my possessions,

to impress people,

to be popular,

to prove I’m somebody important,

or to promote myself.

 

I’m not here to even be relevant or successful by human standards.

 

I’m here to please You.

 

I read this prayer in a book called 31 Days of Praise by Ruth Meyer a few years ago and have it in the front of my planner. I do not know that I had realized what it really meant until recently when I prayed for patience and God decided to answer my prayer like He often does and teach me patience instead of just giving it to me. I’m learning that patience is a constant dying to what I want and surrendering to what He wants…and when He wants it. It’s living in the confidence that He knows what is best for me, He loves me without condition and He is endlessly patient with me.

One thought on “patience

Leave a Reply

