Core

Well, we did it….we got a Wii.

I’m not much of a video gamer, but have found that the Wii has been very fun for our family because it’s a great mix of what the kids like (our attention) and what we like (playing games together). I’m not very good at most of the games – it requires a level of coordination that I apparently do not possess…but it is fun nonetheless (for those who saw my plea for finding a Wii for less than $250, I did not. We got it from Wal-Mart for $249.99 and added Wii Fit for $89.99…all paid for with rebate money from one of our credit cards).

In doing Wii Fit, it focuses alot on your balance and core strength as the keys to fitness. And after 3 c-sections and 1 stomach surgery to remove a cyst, I’ve become uncomfortably aware of how weak my physical core really is. So, I’m working on it. I know it will take a long time and that at times it will be frustrating that it is not getting stronger as fast as I want it to, but ultimately I know that if I keep at it, my core will eventually strengthen.

This past weekend, I had the privilege of hearing Christine Caine speak at our church at “Chick Night”. She shared with us the gigantic issue of human trafficking and the fight against injustice in the 21st century (you can read more here: A21). And most of me just wanted to GO! To do something…to make a difference. 

But then she spoke about our spiritual core and if it is not strong, we will collapse under the uncertainties that we face in this world. And God very gently revealed to me that just like my physical core is weak because of surgery, my spiritual core is weak because of my sin. That He will continue to strengthen it, but it will take time and consistency. It will take me surrendering myself to Him daily…hourly…every moment. And letting Him alone fill me to build the strength I need to do whatever it is He has planned. That just like my physical core, my spiritual core will not become rock solid overnight – it will take time and hard work.

I liken it to boot camp. In order for those who sign up to be in the military to be ready for battle, they must first go through boot camp. It is the place where their own tendencies are broken and rebuilt to be able to withstand forces that advance against them. I have never heard of someone that liked boot camp, but many who would enforce the necessity of it to survive in battle.

So, I find myself in a “boot camp” of sorts…both physical and spiritual. I know I may not like it…but at the same time I long for the skills and strength needed to fight well in any battle that God allows me to face. That for now I can pray, I can give, I can study and I can surrender so that my core grows stronger daily for whatever He has planned for my life.

One thought on “Core

Leave a Reply

