excitement

Durng my quiet time this morning I was reading through my journal and reflecting on the excitement I have about 2009 and all I believe God might do in this brand new year.

And then a sense of fear set in as I began to wonder “what if I dream up something really big and then I am disappointed when it doesn’t happen?”

That’s when God gently nudged me and asked “Are you excited about what I might do or about who I am? Because who I am never changes…and my character will never disappoint you.”

And I realized that so many times I let my expectations rest on what I can see God doing rather than on His character and presence alone. I’m reminded that I can never determine the truth of a situation by looking at the circumstances – I can only determine the truth of a situation by looking at Him.

One thought on “excitement

Leave a Reply

