Love is…

Ever had a concept slap you in the face? It doesn’t necessarily have to be a spiritual concept, although I think those cut to the quick of the heart in ways that others cannot.

I’m a doer – serving, completing, organizing, etc. – those are easy things for me. And during a season of God wanting me to focus on being with Him instead of doing for Him, He has shown me that I “do” well.

But He’s also shown me that doing well without loving well…is worthless.

Then He had me read 1 Corinthians 13 (did I hear an audible voice, no. I just happened to read the chapter that I have read a hundred times, but this time it moved me to tears…that’s why I believe it was Him that lead me to read it).

The first part of the chapter explains that I can be a good “doer” of just about anything. But if I don’t love others, I am but a clanging cymbal, am no good to anybody and and am of no value whatsoever. 

The middle part then explains what love is…

                …patient and kind

                …not jealous or boastful or proud or rude

                …it does not demand it’s own way

                …not irritable nor does it keep any records of when it has been wronged

                …never glad about injustice, but rejoices whenever the truth wins out

                …never gives up, never loses faith

                …always hopeful and endures through every circumstance

                …lasts forever

 

The very last verse of the chapter reminds that there are three things that will endure – faith, hope and love – and the greatest of these is love.

 

And so my journey to the heart of who God is calling me to be continues. As my heart’s prayer becomes that I love others like He loves, He’s revealing moments during everyday where improvement is limitless. And in my uncountable moments of being overwhelmed at the fact that I am not able to love like He describes in that chapter, He nudges me and reminds me that I need not “do” anything…but only bathe in the love He so relentlessly pours upon me and then allow it to overflow to those around me. That it is by His grace and mercy that I will be able to love others…not ever by my own strength, but only because I have soaked myself in the way He loves me.

Leave a Reply

