No goals?

Ok, last one – I know you aren’t at my blog to read someone elses stuff. But Samantha has refused to sleep through the night since we got back from vacation, making my morning time much shorter (and groggier)…leaving me no time to blog. Oddly enough, some of the blogs I’ve been reading have really been hitting home for me at the same time. Here’s one I read this morning and LOVED it. Explains my battle daily between fun and effective – still trying to figure out the perfect balance…because there’s gotta be one, right? Or does there?

Seth Godin is my favorite marketing blogger. I love his ideas and how he thinks. Here’s one of my favorite posts of his yet….

The thing about goals

Having goals is a pain in the neck.

If you don’t have a goal (a corporate goal, a market share goal, a personal career goal, an athletic goal…) then you can just do your best. You can take what comes. You can reprioritize on a regular basis. If you don’t have a goal, you never have to worry about missing it. If you don’t have a goal you don’t need nearly as many excuses, either.

Not having a goal lets you make a ruckus, or have more fun, or spend time doing what matters right now, which is, after all, the moment in which you are living.

The thing about goals is that living without them is a lot more fun, in the short run.

It seems to me, though, that the people who get things done, who lead, who grow and who make an impact… those people have goals.

One thought on “No goals?

  1. Hi Sheila

    You are right about Seth Godin – I love his work too. Because having goals is about our whole lives – not just about one small part of it: family, work, pleasure, our spiritual wellbeing.

    Goals are what make us responsible for who we are and what we do. My goal (as a 65 year old widow) is to create a new life for myself and find some new financial freedom, so that I can contribute more to the world that I do by being chained to a desk and a computer for 50 hours a week. I have been doing that for the past 30 years.

    I have new goals and some committed timeframes. So, it will probably be more of the same for the next six months – and after that, I expect there will be some major changes in my life – that will be wonderful for my family.

    Come visit me at http://is.gd/fhzs and http://is.gd/fHKR

    Cheers
    Lesley

    PS I found you because I bumped you out of the reading cycle at AI. Sorry, and yet I am not. I was glad to share with you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

