Who are you listening to?

Today’s times can make just about anyone’s stomach turn. With all the news of a bad economy, battles over Proposition 8 and various opinions about our President-elect, it’s without effort that we can become inundated with every perspective and prediction on what might happen “next”….whether that be next week, next year, next decade.

So, in the quiet moments of your day (even if they are few and far between), who are you listening to?

Are you listening to what people around you say? Who? TV commentators? Financial gurus? Your friends? Your family? Your pastor? Who, when you hear them, gets to the heart of you and what they say “sticks”?

I tend to listen to those with a good track record – you know, the ones that seem to have been more right than wrong in the past, so they have a pretty good chance of being right in the future. But these are “unprecedented” times some people say. And if they really are, will those with a good track record be able to play just as well in times they’ve never experienced? I can quickly find myself caught up in listening to too many voices…too many people telling me what to do – with my money and my time….my focus.

So, who do you listen to? Whose voice do you hear when you make decisions? Big decisions and small ones. Decisions about your finances, your home, your family and your future. When there’s 2 opposing voices in your head – who wins? Why?

If I’m honest about answering this question, I can find myself answering with “whatever is least painful” or “whatever is most popular” – I can find myself realizing I listen to the voices that most line up with what I want – irregardless of whether or not another voice is telling me what is “best”.

But the thing is, I believe the Bible is true. Every word, every page, every chapter and book. I believe there are promises in the Bible that will not ever be broken – not even in “unprecedented” times. I believe God has an impeccable track record – one that has not a single decision that fell short of “best”. So who do I listen to…

  • When the money magazine is telling me how to hoard and protect my money, but the Bible is telling me to test God by giving money away and He will pour out more blessing than I can contain (Malachi 3:10 Bring the whole tithe into the storehouse, that there may be food in my house. Test me in this,” says the LORD Almighty, “and see if I will not throw open the floodgates of heaven and pour out so much blessing that you will not have room enough for it.)
  • When someone does something hurtful to me and the people around me tell me to “take what is mine” or “give ’em what they deserve”, but the Bible is telling me to forgive and when I mess up, I too will be forgiven (Matt 6:14 For if you forgive men when they sin against you, your heavenly Father will also forgive you.)
  • When the fitness magazine I’m reading or my scale tells me I’m not as fit as I “should” be, but the Bible tells me I’m a beautiful creation – one that has been fearfully and wonderfully made (Ps 139:14 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made)
  • When the talking head on CNN tells me that I should be afraid because tough times are coming and nothing is guaranteed, but the Bible tells me that God knows the plans He has for me and they are plans to prosper met and not to harm me (Jeremiah 29:11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. )

At the end of the day, when I’m tense and I can feel fear well up inside of me because we arein tough times and I’m listening to alot of voices from every direction, I open my Bible and am reminded of the promise in the Bible found in Hebrews 13:8 Jesus Christ is the same yesterday, today and forever. These aren’t “unprecedented” times for Him. And no matter what the future holds, His promises are still the “best” voice I can to listen to.

So, who are you listening to?

Leave a Reply

